How bout folk music from the UK? Not Mumford & Sons, You gotta hear the Rend Collective Experiment

– Rend Collective Experiment

Their newest effort is a live album recorded in front of a campfire?!  Yup, a bunch of people praising the Lord on a beach with a fire, some instruments and a whole lot of love!  They released it in January with Integrity Music part of Kingsway Records, a British Christian label.  Looks like they will be part of the Struggle Tour in April.  Starting 2007 they formed as a community and grew to ~100 ‘musicians, artists, bank workers, teachers’, not really a band and started with praise lyrics to a folk-rock Christian experimental vibe.  They have a few albums but here’s a better telling of their story but I first heard about the group on the Relevant Podcast hosted by Cameron Strang and watched them in the Relevant Studio.  WOW!  (BTW – Relevant Media Group is AMAZING!! …but that’s a post for another day.)

Why is Roots into this?!  We’re seeing a bit of a throwback to natural music highlighted by the praise showered on Mumford & Sons at the Grammy Awards this year.  My Minnesota peeps may not know but I was raised in what used to be a rural community in Virginia.  It was  swallowed up by the sprawl of Washington DC’s reach of track housing and cookie cutter subdivisions of Northern Virginia but I can claim to growing up on well water until my grand dad led a team to get water/sewer lines to our community. And under no conditions can you touch my Grandma’s radio, which produced a 24/7 stream of 98.7 WMZQ DC’s country music station since 1977.

Odd to see a Christian post is what’s primarily a tech/geek blog?  Well, Easter’s almost here and I think there’s a lot of positive, uplifting music ready for discovery.  I decided to post a link spotlighting a newer Christian artist/group and hope you discover new music or perhaps even more.  There’s plenty of praise music/concert/unplugged/lyric videos on this YouTube playlist I setup that goes through dub-step, R&B, electronic, rock, jam-bands, ska, acoustic, latin and gospel tracks.  Any artists out there you recently discovered?

I hope to post new stuff each day as Easter approaches.  I love the Lord and thank Him for all he’s done for me.  My friends and family know I’ve got issues but only through His teaching, sacrifice, and grace do I have an eternal hope.  Forgive one another.  Love one another.  Thank you Jesus!

Previous Artist – Moriah Peters

Leave a comment